** I Become An Expert in Refrigerator Repair in 60 Minutes **

meteorite-740

And now, . . . Here is more of the above

Bill’s Thoughts

As you may know if you follow our blog, we monitor the temperature of our fridge constantly. We have a residential fridge that takes a lot of shake, rattle and roll as we shake, rattle and roll down the road. I really don’t want any surprises like losing all our food cause the temperature got up over 40 inside.

So it was with great distress that I noticed that the internal fridge temperature was 43 degrees and climbing on our weather station. Yikes!!! The light was still working so I knew it had power. I ran outside opened the hatch and checked the compressor, it was working. But when I opened the the freezer I noticed that there was no fan sound. Ah Ha.

Evil Fan

Evil Fan

Running to the computer I hopped online and began my training using Google and YouTube.

RULE #1 – TURN OFF THE REFRIGERATOR.
RULE #2 – UNPLUG THE REFRIGERATOR.
RULE #3 – UNPLUG THE REFRIGERATOR.

Top freezer, bottom fridge units (especially ones from a few years ago) are marvels in simplicity. Not much to go wrong. One of “usual suspects”  is the evaporator fan. Located in the freezer compartment behind a piece of pretty sheet metal, 2 screws and you have access. Now for the fan. (Did I mention – UNPLUG THE REFRIGERATOR?) Two more screws and it was free. Just unplug the 3 wires and you are ready to troubleshoot. (Taking care to note which wires went where)

Most videos recommend you start the the Ohms test. Enter Mr. Multimeter (Actually a Mastech MS8268) the most used tool in my toolbox. Using Mr. Multimeter I ran the Ohms test on the evaporator fan and it tested OK. Hmmm… But how can that be?

 

MR MULTIMETER

I decide to use the “proof is in the pudding” test. Carefully – MAKING SURE THAT NO WIRES FROM THE REFRIGERATOR HARNESS WIRING WERE TOUCHING ANYTHING , I plugged the fridge in momentarily, turned it up to cool and checked for 120VAC with Mr. Multimeter. The harness wires had power. Ah Ha, proof positive that the evaporator fan was bad. Now, TURN OFF THE REFRIGERATOR & UNPLUG THE REFRIGERATOR.

Next I hop back online and go to AppliancePartsPros.com enter my model #, look at their schematic and order the part. The part was cheaper than at local dealer (who was out of stock on that model fan) and arrived the next day – regular ground shipping.

The part arrived the next afternoon and within 20 minutes I installed it and the fridge temp was headed from 75 degrees down to 38 degrees.

Under $50 and not much harder to replace than putting in a new light bulb.

WARNING:

* Do not try this unless you are familiar with and comfortable working with 120 volts AC.
* Take the time to understand how a refrigerator operates. Plenty of tutorial and videos out there.
* Make sure you understand and order the right part.
* This isn’t for everyone. But it sure worked for me.

Leave a Reply

