I Love DIY!! Projects, Projects, – The possibilities are endless!!

Beautiful Lacy Top, made of old hand crocheted doilies.

Beautiful Lacy Top, made of old hand crocheted doilies.

The combination of the green movement and some difficult economic times has led to a healthy and inspiring DIY revolution. Combine that with the Internet, and you have the ability to instantly share ideas,  The DIY craze is world wide and trans generational, with people of all nationalities and ages sharing ideas, and inspiring each other to try new things. – Pinterest has grown by leaps and bounds and is a wealth of ideas (as well as being incredibly addictive). YouTube, is overflowing with how to videos on any and every subject, from how to repair a washer, to how to plant potatoes, and how to do that tricky crochet stitch!

Current Crochet Project

Current Crochet Project

Crochet has been a special love of mine for years, something that my grandmother taught me as a young girl. It ‘s been out of fashion for many years and I had not touched a hook in decades  until two years ago, when I realized that crocheting was suddenly back in style! I found a collection of old crochet hooks that someone else had discarded, and I have been happily hooking ever since!! That first Christmas, every daughter and grandchild received a hand made oversized throw, in their choice of color scheme – even an XXL one for my grandson who was over 6ft. tall at age 13.

Ugly Outdate Maxi Skirt - already starting to take it apart for a Dolman sleeve Top

Ugly Outdate Maxi Skirt – already starting to take it apart for a Dolman sleeve Top

Since then, I’ve increased the number of classes that I’m teaching at our local community college and my wardrobe – (ignored for years) is sadly lacking in options. – So, off I’ve gone, roaming through Pinterest, and various Upcycling, and Repurposing blogs to get some ideas on how to increase and spice up my wardrobe without hurting my bank account!

Oversized Tee - really a nice Teal color, let's see what we can do with it.

Oversized Tee – really a nice Teal color, let’s see what we can do with it.

Armed with ideas and $20, I went to the nearest Goodwill store yesterday, and came home with the beginnings of several new projects. Two never worn oversized men’s tees, a large lace curtain with three panels, an outdated black and gold velvet maxi skirt, a couple of men’s cashmere golfing sweater, and a couple pairs of summery shoes. Now- To make something new and creative with these ingredients!! What fun, I can hardly wait to get started!!I’, going to take pictures of before and after and let you see the progress – (if they turn out as well as I hope they will!  I’m even going to incorporate my trusty crochet hooks in a couple of the tee shirt projects, using very small hooks and a fine cotton thread. I am in DIY heaven.

 

Oversized plain black Tee - This is going to be a summer jacket,

Oversized plain black Tee – This is going to be a summer jacket,

Updates with “After” pictures will follow.

 

One thought on “I Love DIY!! Projects, Projects, – The possibilities are endless!!

  1. Can’t wait to see what you come up with. The lace especially is of interest. We don’t even have a Goodwill here so I am jealous!

Leave a Reply

