Vampires, Witches, and Things that go Bump In the Night

When you live in an RV, books are not only expensive, but they take up a lot of space and the weight adds up pretty quickly. We’ve limited ourselves to a few reference books for “keepers” and the rest I go to the library for. – Yes, I know that the Kindle and Nook are the new way to go, but just like Captain Kirk in Star Trek, I enjoy the feel of holding a volume and turning the pages – the additional sensory input really increases the reading experience for me.

 

Ok,  – I admit, I’m a compulsive reader – I love a good  romance, science fiction, fantasy, historical novel – you name it – and if the plot is good, I’ll escape into it. But when I find an author that combines romance, history, science, time travel, vampires and witches all in the same book – Ohhhh yeah, it just doesn’t get any better than that!

 

Deborah Harkness is absolutely THE best!! In the past week, I’ve devoured her first two novels, “Discovery of Witches” and “Shadow of Night” and can’t wait to get the next in the trilogy!!

 

Currently on my favorite author list – I could go on an on – but here is the short version:

 

Deborah Harkness

  • All Souls Trilogy

Diana Gabaldon

  • Outlander Series

Michael Crichton

  • Time Line

Nora Roberts   – especially her “Enchanted” series

  • The Donovan Legacy Series
    • Charmed
    • Enchanted
    • Entranced
    • Captivated
  • Anything else she writes

Maeve Binchy

  • Everything she writes is excellent

Jennifer Cruise  – Anything she does is great but especially

  • Wild Ride
  • Agnes & the Hitman
  • Dogs & Goddesses

Julie Garwood        

  • Gentle Warrior
  • For the Roses
  • The Gift

Iris Johansen

  • The Search

Patricia Briggs

  • Mercy Thompson Series
  • Alpha & Omega Series
  • Hob’s Bargain  (love this one!)
  • Masques

Kim Harrison

  • The Hollows Series

Charlaine Harris

  • Sookie Stackhouse Series

Jim Butcher

  • The Dresden Files Series

Fred Saberhagen

  • The Dracula Series
2 thoughts on “Vampires, Witches, and Things that go Bump In the Night

  1. Yout have given me some food for thought regarding some new authors. I may not be able to get to them until after Christmas due to the Jingle brains craziness But at least I have a reference point.

Leave a Reply

